36 Comments

I could email you but would you be available for a zoom? I kinda hate writing about it anymore but happy to chat

Expand full comment

Thank you for wanting to write about parents. We are victims too.

Expand full comment

I will email you as well.

Expand full comment

Please email me. What I can tell you is well worth knowing. I am a parent in Minnesota. My story maybe different than others as I had no idea my ex was transitioning our minor child while she was Illegally withholding the child from my parental time with the child. I share co-legal, yet the state put themselves in the center of this issue, while hiding their intentions from me.

Regards,

Brent

Expand full comment
Jul 20, 2023Liked by Eliza Mondegreen

Is there a certain aspect of this that you're most interested in hearing about?

Expand full comment

I'll be emailing you!

Expand full comment

It will be cathartic to share our story with someone who is interested, thank you. So many friends honestly can’t believe what doctors tried to do when I tell them.

Expand full comment

I will also be sending you an email.

Expand full comment

I'd be happy to talk to you.

Expand full comment

Before starting your research you should watch this short video. Helen dares to say the quiet part out loud. Keep this fact in your mind at all times especially when evaluating a person's honesty.

The Mistake That Cannot Be Unmade or Admitted

https://twitter.com/robbystarbuck/status/1681878080040628229?s=20

Expand full comment

Yep, I'll be sending you an email.

Expand full comment

Thank you. I appreciate that. I have began to be very vocal on Twitter. @BrentBowlby if anyone cares to see what's really going on in Minnesota.

Expand full comment

"as such a parent" -- at least metaphorically speaking -- I'm certainly interested in emailing you about the "approach I have taken with regard to my child’s gender identity" -- if you're at all interested.

However, I think you need to specify -- in 25 words or less -- exactly what you mean by "gender identity". As I had requested in a comment on a recent post of yours.

Seems to me that the crux of the matter is how children, how we all develop our senses of self, and how that process can go off the rails and into the weeds in so many ways. An absolutely awesome responsibility to shepard kids into a more or less functional adulthood -- the hand that rocks the cradle rules the nation. Which is maybe some reason to argue that too many "parents" have fallen down on the job or never showed up for it in first place.

But in any case, some reason -- in fact, many reasons -- to argue that gender identity may be somewhat akin to the imaginary friends that many have argued presaged, that were and are the harbingers of both religion and consciousness itself. For example, see:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Origin_of_Consciousness_in_the_Breakdown_of_the_Bicameral_Mind

Something of a delicate operation to tenderly nurture that first spark.

Expand full comment

Hi Eliza, I’ve written quite a bit in the comments of others’ substacks. I will email you.

Expand full comment

I’ll send you an email too.

Expand full comment

Are you asking us to refer to you parents we know about?

Expand full comment

Deadline?

Expand full comment
deletedJul 23, 2023·edited Jul 23, 2023
Comment deleted
Expand full comment